About Us


Field to Family works to create a more local, more healthy and more sustainable regional food system.
We envision a region where people eat with the seasons, where farmers make a living, and our ecosystem is diverse, abundant, and healthy.

Board of Directors

David Burt, President
David Burt is a chef and local food advocate. A native of Scotland, he relocated here after finishing a BA in American Studies. He spent many years in the restaurant business, culminating in the 13 year span of The Red Avocado. He currently owns and operates Four Square Meals, a restaurant consultancy and food production business located in Iowa City. David was part of Field to Family from 2001-2005. He lives in Iowa City with his wife and children.

Ofer Sivan, Treasurer
Co-owner of Oasis.

Alicia Ambler, Secretary
Alicia Ambler lives in Iowa City with her husband, daughter, and dog.  She teaches English as a Second Language at the University of Iowa. She writes a food blog at culinarybliss.blogspot.com.

Miriam Alarcon Avila
Photographer. Baker & Prepared Foods Coordinator at New Pioneer Food Co-op.

Katherine Mellen
Professor in the Health Science Department at the University of Iowa.

Mark Quee
Mark is the Farm Manager at Scattergood Friends School near West Branch, Iowa. He has grown for a variety of markets including restaurants, schools, and farmers markets, but now focuses on raising as much as possible all of the meat and organic fruits and vegetables eaten by the staff and students of Scattergood. Mark also teaches Humanities classes and lives at Scattergood with his wife and daughter. 

Wendy Zimmerman 

Michelle Kenyon, Program Director
Jennifer Mettemeyer,
Farm to School, School Garden Coordinator

Advisory Board 

James Adrian
Amanda Arn
Kristin Bergman
Amy Blessing
John Boller
Peg Bouska
Mike Carberry
Theresa Carbrey
Rockne Cole
Alison Demory
Ilsa Dewald
Mahmood Eltyeb
Jessica Burtt-Fogarty
Kurt Friese
Cathy Gehris
Jason Grimm
Brandi Jannsen
Ayamu Kabirus
Jen Kardos
Dave Koch
Scott Koepke
Liz Maas
Fred Meyer
Joyce Miller
Nate Kaeding
Kate Moreland
James Nisly
Tammy Neumann
Paul Rausch
Derek Roller
Sara Rynes- Weller
Molly Schintler
Lori Schreier
Jordan Sellergren
Shanti Sellz
Kyle Sieck
Cindy Smith
Rod Sullivan
Natalie Veldhouse
Heather Widmayer